Forgotten Password

Club News

Stuart Murray - Cheshire LTA Coach of the Year!!

Main Image

At the Cheshire LTA Awards Ceremony on 14th November attended by nearly 300 people from clubs around Cheshire - Stuart Murray was awarded the Cheshire LTA 'Development Coach of the Year' award - less than two years after joining the club as Head Coach. These awards aim to celebrate and reward the people and venues that are the driving force behind British Tennis. And Stuart is certainly one of them!

Why is Stuart different?

  • He has taught us to think about angles, how to decide which shot to hit when, how to decide where to position ourselves on court, why to hit a particular shot, when to use more or less spin. He has made us think about all aspects of our game!
  • He also teaches movement on court – how to get to a ball quicker and how to position yourself in order to hit those wide balls
  • Everyone who has coaching with Stuart has been excited by learning something new…..
  • He doesn’t just make us hit balls; he makes us think about what we are doing with every ball we hit
  • Of course he helps everyone with the basics as well – how to hit the ball, how to stand, where to stand etc etc – and he always finds one or two points on every shot that helps cement the learning into the pupil’s game
  • He is brilliant with all ages and all levels of players and delights in seeing everyone improve......

If you are interested in joining one of Stuart's coaching groups or booking some private lessons, then Stuart can be contacted on 07899-966366

Further details of group coaching and cardio sessions can be found on the following links - juniors - adults


On the same evening the Under 18 Boys Team were presented with the Monkhouse Shield which is a county-wide tournament which they won in September.  The presenter commented that the boys had obviously benefited from Stuart's coaching! (The club last won the event in 1983!)  The winning team are (left to right) - Oscar Walter, Zac Roberts, Max Ridings and Chris Sibbett.

On the same evening David Paterson was presented with the 'National Aegon Team Tennis County Organiser' award.

As well as organising the county Aegon summer leagues, David also runs all our external tournaments - which are open to both members and visitors.  These tournaments give our juniors a chance to play competitive matches against players from other clubs - in our local environment.  More tournaments are planned for 2017 - so watch this space!


Ruth Samuels was presented with the 'Unsung Hero' award by Michael Downey - Chief Executive of the LTA, who also made a speech about the LTA's plans to assist with improvement of facilities in the UK.  Ruth is our Junior Tennis Chairman as well as being Honorary Secretary of the club.

Comments are not activated