LTA Awards


2021 LTA Tennis Awards - nominations now open!

As Chairman of the Tennis Club.... I have already submitted the following nominations - do have a read of them:

Development Coach of the Year - Stuart Murray

Submission - how lucky we are to have Stuart as our Head Coach!

Coaching Achievements

Lockdown YouTube Videos - do watch these again.....

Volunteer of the Year - David Killworth - Tennis Facilities

Submission - learn how much work David and his team put into maintaining our top facilities.....

Club of the Year - Alderley Edge Tennis club!

Submission - read about how much we have achieved this year

Vision and Goals - Status plus Awards received by Club Members - and here is the detail what we have done and what we are planning

I would appreciate if you to add your own nominations and feed back to the LTA how lucky we are to play at our wonderful Alderley Edge Tennis Club.  Details of how to make your nomination are given below

Enjoy your tennis!

Ruth Samuels 


This is what the LTA says:

Brighten someone's day by nominating them for an award:
Nominations for the 2021 Awards are open until Sunday 15 November and can be submitted via an online nomination form which takes just 10 minutes to complete. There are 12 grassroots categories to choose from, so you can nominate any person or place who you think deserves to be recognised – and you can nominate more than once for any award.

Being recognised through the LTA Tennis Awards means so much to the nominees at every single stage of the process.  Just being nominated can make someone’s day.

Here are the LTA Tennis Awards 2021 Judging Criteria 

About the LTA Tennis Awards
Each year, the LTA Tennis Awards highlight the incredible achievements and contributions of people across Britain. 

Launched in 2015 with the help of former LTA president Cathie Sabin OBE, the awards recognise the many thousands of inspirational individuals involved in tennis, dedicating their precious time and energy; 25,000 volunteers, 4,672 coaches and 975 officials. They also highlight the incredible achievements of some 22,000 schools, 2,768 clubs and over 9,276 LTA approved tournaments. The contribution of these individuals and venues helps to bring fans and players closer to the game we all love.

Winners are judged from over 2,000 public nominations and are first judged by 38 County Associations, resulting in 380 County award winners who are then put forward for Regional awards. Finally, the Regional winners are put forward for the National LTA Tennis Awards alongside winners from Tennis Wales and Tennis Scotland.


And these are the LTA awards the club has won in past years:


  • David Paterson - LTA Official of the Year 2020 – National runner-up
  • Max Green – Cheshire Young Volunteer of the Year


  • Cheshire LTA ‘Club of the Year’
  • LTA North Region ‘Club of the Year’
  • Jan Slack – Cheshire LTA ‘Tennis for Life’ award - recognised for 35 years of fund raising for Cheshire LTA
  • David Paterson – ‘Cheshire LTA National Team Organiser of the Year’ - for organising the Cheshire LTA Team Tennis leagues with the highest percentage of completed matches
  • Stuart Murray - finalist in Cheshire LTA ‘Team of the Year’ as team coach / captain of the Under 14 Cheshire Boys team who reached the National finals - top eight in the country. Mason Dace was a member of the team.
  • Ruth Samuels - finalist in Cheshire LTA ‘Volunteer of the Year’ – for running the court development project and continuing involvement in development of the juniors
  • Also recognised in the Cheshire LTA ‘Salute to the Champions’ were the following members:
    • Mason Dace - winner of the Cheshire Under 14 Boys Doubles
    • Seb Jackson - winner of the over Cheshire 35 Mixed Doubles
    • James Stokes - winner of the Cheshire over 55 singles
    • Seb Jackson captained the 45 and over men’s team who finished fourth in the World Championship


  • David Paterson – ‘Cheshire LTA National Team Organiser of the Year’ - for organising the Cheshire LTA Team Tennis leagues with the highest percentage of completed matches


  • Stuart Murray – Cheshire LTA ‘Development Coach of the Year’
  • Stuart Murray – LTA North Region ‘Coach of the Year’
  • Ruth Samuels – Cheshire LTA ‘Unsung Hero of the Year’ – for helping develop the junior programme at the club